Mukomeze is run entirely by volunteers. In addition to the board that carries out the day-to-day tasks, there is an international advisory board that we can turn to with questions. Our ambassadors also help to bring the Mukomeze Foundation to the attention.


Anne-Marie de Brouwer (Chair)
Anne-Marie is co-founder and chair of the Mukomeze Foundation. Anne-Marie is also affiliated with IMPACT: Center against Human Trafficking and Sexual Violence in Conflict and Bèkske: Rwandan Empowerment Coffee.


Antoinette van der Kaa (Secretary)

Antoinette is a social worker in the women and youth care. Besides secretary of Mukomeze, she is also team member of Bèkske: Rwandan Empowerment Coffee.

Profielfoto Freek Dekkers

Freek Dekkers (Treasurer)
Freek is co-founder and treasurer of the Mukomeze Foundation. Freek works as a self-employed administrator in the Breda /Tilburg region.


Christine van Noort (Sponsorships)
Christine works at the municipality of Hilversum as a legal advisor. She is in charge of the sponsorship programme of Mukomeze.

Lia foto bestuur

Lia Kleuskens (Projects)
Lia recently graduated in Conflict Studies and Human Rights with a background in Psychology. She is project coordinator at Mukomeze.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-19 at 16.37.38

Marielle van de Weijenberg (Communication)
Marielle works as Managing Director at Aon Professional Services, she sings in the Alegria Choir in Beesd and is an actor for Stage group Elckerlyck in Geldermalsen.

Internationale adviesraad

Patrick Cammaert (Major General (off duty))

Sandra Ka Hon Chu (Co-Executive Director with the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network)

Usta Kaitesi (CEO Rwanda Governance Board / author ‘Genocidal Gender and Sexual Violence (Intersentia 2013)’)

Denise Uwimana (Genocide survivor / Founder Iriba Shalom)

Eefje de Volder (co-founder Impact: Center against Human Trafficking and Sexual Violence in Conflict / Advisor labor exploitation CoMensha / co-owner Bèkske: Rwandan Empowerment Coffee)

Pinar Okur (Fellow Edmund Hillary Fellowship (EHF) / Humanitarian and Development Advisor Upinion)


Rianne Letschert (President Maastricht University)

Patrick Cammaert (Major General (off duty))

Lauren Jackson (Sportswoman and women’s rights ambassador)

Previous board members of Mukomeze: Vanessa van der Sommen (secretary, 2008-2010), Nicolle Sommers (general board member, 2008-2010), Marieke van Eik (general board member, 2008-2010), Marie-José Hoefnagel (general board member, 2008-2016), Annemarie Middelburg (secretary, 2010-2015), Eefje de Volder (general board member projects, 2010-2019), Pinar Okur (general board member communication, 2011-2019), Lela Saou (general board member, 2012-2014), Anke Vroomen (secretary, 2015-2017), Martine van den Heuvel (secretary, 2017-2019), Karin van Hirtum (general board member communication, 2020-2021). Murakoze cyane for all your efforts!


Help the women of Rwanda. Support them with a monthly or one-time donation. Look here to learn more about donating to Mukomeze.

Latest news